Yoga for the Rest of Us

Yoga is NOT cheap.  With classes averaging $15-25 per class, how do the masses afford to pay for yoga?  Getting a membership would definitely make sense if you attend classes a lot and some of the cheaper monthly membership rates I’ve come across are around $65/month.  But compared to $13/month that I used to pay for a 24 Hour Fitness membership, yoga and specialized fitness studios still seem inaccessible.  And then there’s the yoga clothes…yikes!  Hence this blog.

We all make priorities in our life on how we spend our time and money.  Over the past few years, much of my “disposable” income has been on health related items such as race fees, travel costs to get to races, yoga classes, and of course, all the gear that accompany the sports.  I always looks for discount codes, sales, or friends I can crash with when I travel for races.  When it comes to gear, I rarely go over the top and buy things that are unnecessary, at least in my opinion.  Yes, these costs have added up over the years but the way I see it, it’s still way cheaper than therapy, makes me feel good, and toned abs don’t hurt either.

I debated whether or not I needed to add to the noise on the internet when I started this blog.  Clearly, I decided to go ahead and do it for various reasons.  I’m currently unemployed and have a lot of free time on my hands and felt this would personally be a good outlet.  And while I’m currently not making any money now, I have worked and am looking for work in the nonprofit sector so I pretty much have been used to living paycheck to paycheck for the past seven years.  I’m always on the lookout for deals so I thought I would create this blog to share any resources, tips, and my experiences in navigating the running and yoga world on a very limited budget.

Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

