How You Can Get FREE Yoga

So I’m currently unemployed, attend yoga classes 6-7 days a week, and I don’t pay anything for the classes.  Not one cent.  It’s the ultimate deal for someone without a job.  Pretty awesome, right?  Don’t worry, I’m about to tell you how you can get your yoga on for free as well.

The yoga studio I have been going to for the past few years (and also where I did my teacher training) is CorePower Yoga.  They have locations all over the US and are constantly expanding.  As with MANY yoga studios, CPY offers yoga for trade opportunities, where in exchange for your time helping out around the studio, you get free yoga!  Not bad! I noticed many of the studios look for cleaners and that could mean anything from helping to mop down the floors after a sweaty class to cleaning a bathroom.  Depending on the studio, the time commitment can range from three hours to as high as ten hours.  These yoga for trade positions are coveted, especially at popular studios.

At CPY, I believe they want someone who has been a member or at least attending classes somewhat consistently for a few months prior to signing up for a yoga for trade position.  The requirement probably means the studio wants someone who is familiar with their yoga community (teachers, style of classes, other students, etc) so relationships can be important, whether it’s at CPY or another studio.  Build authentic relationships with your instructors or the other students in class.  It’s just nice but it can also help get you into these positions a bit faster.  I met a student during teacher training and we practiced a lot with each other.  It turns out he was already a cleaner at one of the studios and was able to get my name to the top of a wait list for a cleaner position (unfortunately the time slots didn’t work out with my schedule at the time).  I had been taking a lot of classes from an instructor and she reached out to me for trade opportunities to help out at the front desk when I was in teacher training a couple of weeks later.  So yes, relationships can help you get on the fast track to free yoga.  It’s been a few months since I started the trade and it’s been awesome getting to know the instructors and the community better.

Okay, so it’s not completely ‘free’ but if you have the time, you can save so much money.  At around $100+ per month for a membership, imagine how many lulu see-through pants you can buy.

Leave a Reply

