Living in Yoga Pants, Just Not to the Bar

The majority of what I wear these days are yoga and running clothes since that is what I spend my ‘funemployed’ days doing.  They have made up 90% of my clothing purchases over the past few years and make up 99% of what I wear outside of my pajamas.  While it’s super comfy, I feel like I’ve been super lazy about how I dress, especially since I moved to San Diego, a city where it’s pretty much acceptable to wear t-shirts, jeans, and flip flops everywhere so it’s easy to become super complacent.  However, I’m definitely not so complacent that I wear my yoga pants as clothing to go out to restaurants or bars.  Even if you have yoga pants that make your behind look great, why would you wear something you sweat in while out and about?

I’ve been wanting a new pair of skinny jeans for awhile now and decided to hit up Nordstrom Rack.  I normally hate stores like Nordstrom Rack, Marshalls, Ross, etc since I have no patience to go through racks of stuff just thrown around with the most minimal amount of order and organization.  It’s just overwhelming.  However, the last time I bought a nice pair of jeans, I went to Nordstrom Rack and all their pricey jeans are located in one section and organized by brand and size.  I haven’t been able to find cheap skinny jeans that looked good or fit well and refuse/can’t pay for $200 jeans.  Since I had a gift card to Nordstrom, I was hopeful I could find some quality jeans for not much money.  I was specifically looking for gray or black jeans so it made the search even easier.  I tried on about 4 or 5 different pairs with various sizes in each one since it’s been a while buying actual clothes.  I ended up with the softest pair of gray jeans that it might as well be like wearing yoga pants.  The length was pretty perfect especially since I’m pretty short – there was minimal bunching at the bottom.  With my other pair of skinny jeans, I always had to hike up my pants every few minutes – these hug my lower half in all the right parts.  One minor thing I noticed was that the inner seam on the bottom of the left pant leg kept rotating towards the center of my shin.  Minor.  The jeans are J Brand mid-rise skinny jeans in warm gray.  I saw plenty of them at the Nordstrom Rack in San Diego.  They cost $80 (less for me since I had a gift card) and retailed for $180.

JBrand mid rise skinny jeans

Leave a Reply

