Hump Day Inspiration

Image

For this week’s post, I came across so many great quotes on “trying”.  I decided to choose the most simple one that encompassed the sentiment of the many quotes I saw.  Plus, this picture is the cutest and I had to share.

“If you never try, you’ll never know.”  Last week, I got into king pigeon pose.  In the few years I’ve been practicing, I’ve never really attempted this asana.  I try many new poses that are introduced to me but for some reason, I just had it set in my mind that this posture was not going to be a part of my practice and so I never went for it.  But thanks to an awesome instructor, a strap, and a change in attitude, I reached back and inched my fingers down the strap and grabbed my toes.  As soon as I touched them, I felt this amazing sense of accomplishment rush through me and was so glad I went for it.  When I went home, I tried it again, this time without the aid of a strap and I was able to touch my toes again!  I felt so light and open and wanted to just nuzzle my head in my foot (I wasn’t that open yet and had to back out fairly quickly).

I’ve learned a lot about myself and life in my running and yoga practice.  This is just another example and I wanted to share it with all of you.  Don’t set yourself up for failure by saying you can’t do something.  You won’t know your limits until you go for it.

Leave a Reply

