Ratatouille – If You Don’t Mind Some Prep Work

ratatouille

One of the reasons I don’t eat enough veggies is that most of them require some amount of preparation before you can eat them, which means my veggie consumption usually consists of baby carrots.  I definitely love vegetables and if someone is making it for me, I’m inhaling it.  But I’m pretty lazy when it comes to cooking them for myself.

So, here’s a delicious, nutritious, and of course, very budget friendly vegetable stew recipe that requires a little bit of prep and a little bit of patience… at least for me.

RATATOUILLE!  Like most, I think watching the movie inspired me to figure out what made this dish so amazing.  I came across a ratatouille recipe by Alice Waters, who I’m a huge fan of.  She is one of the leaders in the movement away from processed/fast food crap to eating real, local, and organic food.  I’m hoping to someday dine at her restaurant, Chez Panisse, in Berkeley, CA.  Anyhoo, I made this recipe a couple of years ago and it came out so-so.  But last week, I went home for an interview and stayed with my mom.  She had eggplant growing in her backyard and gave me a few.  The only thing I could think of making was ratatouille so I set my mind to try this again.  I already had the eggplant, basil from a house plant, and the pantry items.  All I needed were onions, peppers, squash, and tomatoes – all pretty inexpensive items.  All the ingredients cost me around $6 and I got 4 heaping bowls worth of delicious goodness.  One of the things I did differently this time was to lightly salt with each layer of veggies being added to the pot.  Then as a final touch, I added some herbes de provence just because.  My fiance kept raving about it, even the next day when we were eating leftovers.  I thought it was pretty delish, myself.

This is the not same ratatouille from the movie.  Thomas Keller (owner of the French Laundry – another pricey restaurant I would die to go to) actually taught the movie team how to create the ratatouille while they filmed his every movie.  The version he created in his kitchen is the exact one used in the movie.  I imagine it’s pretty damn good since it’s Thomas Keller, so here is ratatouille recipe from the film if you want to make this one instead.

Bon Appetit!

Leave a Reply

