Breaking the Hiatus

Namaste broke ass readers!  Seriously, where did the time go?  I knew it had been awhile since my last post but I didn’t realize it had been two months!

There has been some activity relevant to the blog but not a whole lot, which also explains the brief hiatus.  I’ve reluctantly let wedding planning and work take over my life.  I spend a lot of extra energy complaining about the cost and debating the necessity of this wedding all the time, as my fiance can attest to, so it’s definitely not the most enjoyable process for me.  I just have to CONSTANTLY remind myself that it’s not all about me and that day of the wedding, it will be amazing to have all my friends and family in the same place celebrating with me because that is what it should be all about.

So with all this craziness, my fitness world has been put on hold.  I also think I have a torn meniscus which is preventing me from running and I took some time off from yoga as well.  When I was starting to feel better I went back to the studio that Annie Carpenter teaches at and signed up for another 10-class pack.  I managed to use the majority of class package with her so I’m pretty happy with my purchase and hopefully can do the same even though it seems like she has a pretty busy travel schedule at the moment.  I figured since this is the only studio/membership I’m paying for that it was justified.  I’m certainly getting my money’s worth – getting my own personal practice in and learning a lot for my own teaching purposes.

I am considering one of the online yoga sites for membership which will hopefully allow me to get more of my practice in when it’s convenient for me.  I’ve explored and re-explored some of the sites to figure out which ones I like most and where I should invest my hard earned dollars (although let’s be real, they are only monthly memberships – I can cancel at any time).  There are a lot of great online classes out there and a couple nights ago I was barely able to get into kapotasana (pictured below) thanks to a class.  And I never ever thought I would be able to get my forearms on the ground.  Anyhow, I’ve narrowed it down to MyYogaWorks and Yogis Anonymous.  I love the YogaWorks method and how it’s very alignment based.  I know what to expect from all the instructors and that’s nice.  For Yogisanonymous, I’ve just really enjoyed my trial run and have taken classes that just jive with me.  I’ll probably do the latter since I’ve had around 4 months with YogaWorks already.

First time ever getting my forearms down

First time ever getting my forearms down!

Oooohhh, and one other related yoga topic – I freaking won a weekend pass to the Yoga Journal Conference in SF next year!!  As a perk of working in the nonprofit world, you get to work at or attend special events/galas.  I attended one last month where they had a silent auction.  I walked around to check out at all the goodies up for auction and the bids people were placing on them.  Then I saw one of the auction items – it was the weekend pass to the Yoga Journal Conference and no one had bid on it.  It was about five minutes before the silent auction closed and I had to quickly decide what I wanted to do.  The minimum bid was $125.  I had planned to do the work-trade option next year but remembered that you had to put out $200 initially to do that and then would be reimbursed $100 if I did a satisfactory job.  For $25 more, I can participate without doing any of the work!  I actually would love to be a part of the behind-the-scenes action but for my first year, this sounded great.  So I put my minimum bid down and then hovered over the area until they ended the auction.  Needless to say, I was pretty stoked!  Deals can be found where you least expect it so always be on the lookout!

2 thoughts on “Breaking the Hiatus

  1. Hi! This is Dorian from Yogis Anonymous. Just wanted to say thanks for the shout-out 🙂 If you’re in LA, please come by the studio sometime and take a class as our guest!

Leave a Reply

