Yoga Journal LIVE! in San Francisco this Weekend

Hey broke-ass yogis!  Yoga Journal LIVE! (when did they stop referring to it as the conference??) is THIS weekend in SF and I’ll be attending!  I won these tickets through a silent auction where I was the only bidder so got a weekend pass for only $125 – pretty sweet score. I’m trying to mentally prepare myself for at least SIX HOURS of yoga both Saturday and Sunday but I’m super excited to be taking classes from some amazing teachers such as Kathryn Budig, Jason Crandell, Maty Ezraty, and of course Annie Carpenter.

As I’ve mentioned, you can be a part of the event for free!  Here are some of the highlights that caught my eye that will be held in the Sangha Space (I’m listing stuff that interests me but if you want to check out the full schedule in that space, click here):

1. Life in Balance Lecture Series – An Evening with Innovators to Discuss How Yoga is Shaping Modern Society.  Panelists Congressman Tim Ryan, Beryl Bender Birch, and Gopi Kallayil will talk about the impacts of yoga on public policy, health care, and technology.  Open Q&A to follow.  This event is not free but open to the public and tickets aren’t too pricey – $20 advance purchase and $30 at the door.

2. Kid’s Yoga.  For those that have little kids, it’s never too early to get them started! Two options to pick from during the weekend.

3. Community Class with Laura Burkhart.  FREE 1 hour class with an SF-based teacher who conducts philanthropic work through her company and teaches at YogaWorks and Yoga Tree.

4. Bhakti Flow: Devotion in Motion with Rusty Wells.  I’ve heard so many amazing things about Rusty, most recently from colleagues, and I used to take classes from a former students, who was amazing!  I will definitely be taking class!

5. Anatomy Q&A: Troubleshoot Your Pose with Harvey M. Deutch, PT.  I am super bummed this conflicts with the Rusty Wells class, otherwise, I would totally be in this class.

Hopefully you are able to take advantage of some of the offerings.  And don’t forget to check out the Yoga Marketplace where there might be some freebies!

Leave a Reply

