Fave Salad of the Moment

I love veggies but I hate prepping them. Well let’s be honest, I am super lazy when it comes to cooking, period. If my husband didn’t do the majority of the cooking, I would eat cereal for every meal. And in my world, there is nothing wrong with cereal for every meal. NOTHING. Unfortunately, cereal doesn’t provide the nutrition and fuel you need to function properly (DARN!).

Quinoa-Mexican-Salad-with-Creamy-Orange-Chili-Dressing-vegan-glutenfree

I came across this delicious Mexican Quinoa Salad with Orange-Lime Dressing on the blog, Minimalist Baker, in searching for quick-to-prepare, healthy meals. At first glance, the recipe looked overwhelming but right before I was about to scroll past it, I noticed many of the ingredients were spices and pantry staples, all of which I already owned. The recipe looked a lot less daunting and I headed to Trader Joe’s and spent about $5 to get the mixed greens, cilantro, avocado, orange, and limes. I omitted red onions since I hate raw onions and used frozen wild rice from TJ’s that I already had to cut down on cooking time with the lentils. I made the creamy dressing with the avocado but to save more time and the clean-up afterwards, you can do a vinaigrette version that they suggest, especially if you don’t have a blender/food processor.

I have made this salad 3 or 4 times now and each time, we get 3 size-able servings out of it. I was inspired to share it since I just had it Monday night to clean out my body after a trip down south to see my family for the Memorial Day weekend, which was filled with eating super delicious, decadent, and probably not so healthy food. The salad is surprisingly filling and satisfying thanks to the beans and avocado, refreshing and tangy with the citrus, and of course, super cheap and healthy! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

