Cold Weather Got You Dreaming of Yoga Retreats?

You’re not the only one. Sun salutes on some secluded mountain top with a pristine lake in front of you or maybe a sunny white sand beach where you can spend your days in a bikini. Sounds divine. Well, if you are like me, we might have to keep dreaming. Unless you won that crazy powerball jackpot. In which case, you should share the love and take me with you.

I was giving a friend, who is new to yoga, some resources on navigating the yoga world with a limited budget. When I listed my blog, I felt slightly embarrassed giving him something that I neglected. I didn’t forget about it – I have been compiling the topics in my head. I was just lazy.

Anyhow, if some dreamy yoga retreat isn’t in the cards for you this year, you can take classes from the Wanderlust events…online. They have about 30 FULL-LENGTH classes filmed live at the Wanderlust festivals from top instructors. I watched one of the videos but to be honest, it was awhile back and I don’t recall the experience. But just add this to your list of resources in case you want to switch things up with all those other online resources. Here’s the link to their YouTube channel to get you directly to the classes but they have a ton of other videos such as lectures, interviews, and some shorter classes.

Yes, another online resource. You do miss out on the community of people around you (unless it’s such a packed class and the person’s mat is touching yours – no thank you). But technology has made this practice a lot more accessible for someone like myself who can’t afford to pay for yoga classes every day. Also, using public transportation in SF adds a lot of time to everything you do. A 1.5 hour class usually means 2.5 hours out of my day so a home practice means I’m more likely to get a class into my day. And whenever you can get your yoga in, it’s a good thing.

Leave a Reply

