Win a Teacher Training Scholarship

I listen to yoga podcasts (am I revealing something super nerdy about myself?) and it’s crazy to hear how inexpensive yoga teacher training used to be…I’ve heard $600 or nothing at all depending on when you started teaching. AND there definitely weren’t hourly requirements back then either.

This isn’t the first time I’ve groaned about how expensive teacher training can be. I’m always on the lookout for scholarships or discounts. Most that I come across prioritize yoga teachers who already teach in underserved communities (so if that is you, there is a lot out there!). And I would love to devote my time teaching to underserved communities but reality means rent, food, utilities and other basic necessities of life that make that life very hard and nearly impossible living in the Bay Area. Even if you teach at studios or high end gyms as some of my colleagues do, they are still struggling. The yoga industry has become super expensive but that is not reflected in teacher pay. If you are a full time teacher, you are running around town teaching over 20 classes a week and it’s super exhausting. When I quit my job and took on 10-15 classes a week, I lost some of the joy and inspiration that I enjoy so much in my current teaching. And you are constantly hustling. Which is why I enjoy it as a side job/hobby.

And if I haven’t inadvertently scared you away yet from becoming a yoga teacher, here is some good news! CorePower Yoga is offering 3 teacher training scholarships this fall across the country. So if you have been considering this path, check out the link and be ready to answer how yoga has impacted your life and why you want to do yoga teacher training. And always check out the official rules. Contest ends September 2.

 

2 thoughts on “Win a Teacher Training Scholarship

    • Hi Vanessa, some of the yoga podcasts I’m listening to include: Yoga Talk, Yoga Revealed, and Yogaland. They are all a combination of diving deeper into certain yoga topics, interviews, podcasts geared towards teachers (although when I was a student, these topics still interested me!). Let me know if you like any of them!

Leave a Reply

